Senate Confirms Appointment of New Service Chiefs

The Nigeria Senate on Thursday has confirmed President Bola Tinubu’s appointment of Chief of Defence Staff and Service Chiefs.

Among the service Chiefs confirmed are Major General Christopher G Musa as Chief of Defence Staff; Major General T.A Lagbaja as Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ikechukwu Ogalla as Chief Naval Staff and Air Vice Marshal H. B. Abubakar as Chief of Air Staff.

The Service Chiefs arrived the National Assembly Complex at about 10.00am for an appointment that was slated for 11.00am.

Senate Leader, Sen. Michael Bamidele Opeyemi while moving the motion said “The Senate do consider the request of Mr President and Commander-in -Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on the confirmation of the nomination of Service Chiefs.”

PRNigeria reports that President Tinubu had on Tuesday written the Senate, seeking screening and subsequent confirmation of the new Chief of Defence Staff and service chiefs.

Share Article |